Center Festival is an annual documentary film festival about urban culture and contemporary society. The festival is organized by Documentary Film Center and Museum of Moscow.

The festival program includes Russian premiers of documentary hits from the current festival circuit that explore issues related to urban and social life.

Through the contemporary documentaries the festival aims to present the city as a space for social interaction, as well as to uncover the most important trends that shape the contemporary world and the place of humans in it.

This year's program consists of four sections: 'In the Spotlight', 'Culture', 'Society' and 'Film Archive'.

‘In the Spotlight’ includes films that received prestigious international cinema awards and caused most vigorous public discussions. This year’s focus is on the films that break social stereotypes. After the festival DFC will launch a program of the same name in its usual repertoire — to screen and discuss the most provoking and important documentaries of the year.

‘Culture’ presents films about contemporary art and innovative architecture that change the relationship between people and urban environment.

Films included in the ‘Society’ part offer new perspectives on crucial social issues through discussions of economic theories, contemporary labor conditions, subcultures and the life of urban fauna.

‘Film Archive’ looks at the issues of modernity through the lens of film history. The goal of this part of the program is to attract the public’s attention and to make accessible the art of prominent film directors unknown in Russia — as well as rare archive masterpieces.

Curator — Maya Kuzina

Texts — Anna Melikova

Center Festival — ежегодный фестиваль документального кино о городской культуре и жизни современного общества, организованный Центром документального кино и Музеем Москвы.

В программе фестиваля — российские премьеры документальных хитов текущего фестивального года, исследующих вопросы городского и общественного устройства.

Задача фестиваля — представить город как пространство социального взаимодействия и выявить наиболее важные тенденции, определяющие координаты современного мира и положение человека в нем средствами актуальной документалистики.

Программа этого года включает четыре блока: «В центре внимания», «Культура», «Общество» и «Киноархив».

«В центре внимания» объединяет фильмы, отмеченные престижными международными кинопремиями и вызвавшие наиболее оживленные общественные дискуссии. В фокусе этого года — фильмы, ломающие социальные стереотипы. По окончании фестиваля в репертуаре ЦДК появится постоянная рубрика с аналогичным названием — для показа и обсуждения наиболее острых и значимых документальных картин года.

В блоке «Культура» представлены фильмы о современном искусстве и новаторской архитектуре, меняющих взаимоотношения человека с городской средой. 

Фильмы блока «Общество» предлагают новые точки зрения на острые социальные проблемы через обсуждение экономических теорий, современных условий труда, субкультур и жизни городской фауны.

«Киноархив» — обращение к актуальным вопросам современности через призму истории кино. Задача блока — привлечь внимание и открыть доступ к творчеству важных, но мало представленных в России режиссеров и редким архивным шедеврам. 

Куратор фестиваля — Майя Кузина

Тексты к фильмам — Анна Меликова